Humans are yummy!

     I hesitate to bring this up, because it’s probably going to change your perception of my family, but, I am terrible at keeping secrets. We swore we weren’t going to tell anyone that I was pregnant for at least 12 weeks with each of my pregnancies. PINKY SWORE, even (so you know we were serious.) I lasted a whole whopping 6 1/2 minutes. 

 

     We home school Sassy. We’ve been doing so for 2 years now. I invariably get one of two reactions. You now think we are weirdos, working on raising the next generation of star trek watching, Lord of the Rings quoting, card carrying uber geeks. (Frankly, we are, but, given who her parents are that would have happened anyway.) OR, you are convinced we are trying to raise an Einstein. (If you saw my math grades, you would give up on that idea immediately.)

 

     In truth, we are living in a very poor public school district in a state that does not value a well-rounded education. it’s very sad, and we wish it were different, but, to be completely honest, I love teaching Sassy. she comes up with some humdingers (see, we’re geeks) 

     Case in point, last night she stomps up to me and says in her baby t-rex voice, ( an endearing mix of a growl and a squeak, i cannot emulate it, because it hurts my vocal chords.) “Mommy, I’m a baby t-rex, wanna be my mama t-rex.'” well , of course I do. She stomps out to the kitchen and grabs some m&ms. She gives me a bunch and she takes the rest. 

    The conversation takes a weird turn.

Sassy :Oh no!! Don’t eat me (panicky voice) Haha! T-rex’s eat whatever they want (dinosaur voice) crunch, crunch crunch

Me: What are you eating, Sas?

Sassy: Humans.(dinosaur voice)

Me:(trying not to laugh) You are eating humans?

Sassy: (her matter of fact teaching voice, suspiciously similar to my own) Mommy, t-rex’s eat meat, and humans are made of meat, right?

Me: yes, yes they are.

Sassy: (shoving in another handful of m&ms) Mommy, humans are yummy! (dinosaur voice.)

     Thank you dinosaur train.

     

 

2 thoughts on “Humans are yummy!

Leave a Reply

